Adventures of a Trombonist

The ramblings of a brewing mad, sports nut & professional Trombonist

Black Tsunami

Black Tsunami Imperial Porter

Entering brewing competitions has never sat well with me. I’m not really sure why. I suppose everyone’s tastes are different when it comes to beer and since I brew for my palate I am never sure everyone else will appreciate my beers the same as I do. So it has been with little expectation that I have entered the few competitions that have been held in this country over the last few years. To my complete shock I have actually won a couple of these, the latest this weekend at the Abbeyleix Beer Fest. What I have enjoyed about these competitions is getting to know other brewers, sharing stories, tips and realising there is a great community spirit in homebrewing circles. With that in mind I always like to try assure beginner brewers and people thinking about starting brewing that although it may seem like you need lots of equipment and knowledge to brew good beer, you don’t. For me the Charlie Papazian quote “Relax. Don’t Worry. Have a home-brew” rings true.

So with all that in mind here is the winning recipe from the Abbeyleix Beer Fest. The beer took the Stout/Porter category and the Best of Show. I’d like to thank Shane the lads from the National Homebrew Club for transporting my entry down and also Eugene for organising what sounded like a great event,

The Background

Friday, 11 March 2011, I stated this brewday as any other, up early, mash on and then a cup of coffee and check the news online. The news had just broken that there was an earthquake off the coast of Japan. We all watched in horror at the tsunami that followed. A terrifying wall of black liquid swept across the land and swallowed everything in it’s path. Motorists, unawares of what was coming at them, were tossed and flipped as if they were toys as we watched from a helicopter above. As horrifying and enthralling as it was there is a horrendous beauty in the raw power of nature. I didn’t have to think too much about what to call this brew. I like to name my beers so that they mean something to me when I drink them. I still think about that day when I drink this this brew.

Black tsunami Porter


Author: rossa

Date: 11/03/2011

BeerTools Pro Color Graphic

Size: 26.0 L

Efficiency: 68.72%

Attenuation: 82.4%

Calories: 282.03 kcal per 12.0 fl oz

Original Gravity: 1.085 (1.060 – 1.090)

|=====================#==========|

Terminal Gravity: 1.015 (1.016 – 1.024)

|======#=========================|

Color: 55.51 (17.0 – 30.0)

|=====================#==========|

Alcohol: 9.26% (5.5% – 9.5%)

|=======================#========|

Bitterness: 37.1 (20.0 – 40.0)

|=====================#==========|

Ingredients:

5 kg Maris Otter Pale Ale Malt

.250 kg Amber Malt

1 kg Carapils®/Carafoam®

.4 kg Chocolate Malt

.300 kg Crystal 55

.6 kg Brown Malt

2 kg Dry Light

30.0 g Northern Brewer (8.5%) – added during boil, boiled 60 m

45 g Fuggle (3.6%) – added during boil, boiled 20 m

55.0 g Fuggle (3.6%) – added during boil, boiled 5 m

1.0 tsp Protofloc – added during boil, boiled 15 m

2.0 ea Danstar 3767 Nottingham

Notes

Mashed at 65c. 35l collected. Malt extract added pre boil.
Pitched at 22c .Fermented @ 20-22c
Aged on French Oak chips for 3 weeks.

Results generated by BeerTools Pro 1.5.18

One comment on “Black Tsunami

  1. Pingback: Strong Scotch Surprise « A Little Peculier Brew

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2012 by in Homebrew and tagged , , , , , .
Zythophile

'Zee-tho-fyle', by Martyn Cornell, an award-winning blog about beer now and then, founded in 2007

Moore Groups blog

Archaeological, Environmental & Energy consultants, Galway, Ireland

Thornbridge Brewers' Blog

The Musings of Thornbridge Brewmaster Rob Lovatt

A Little Peculier Brew

making beer the way I want it

Adventures of a Trombonist

The ramblings of a brewing mad, sports nut & professional Trombonist

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.